The Immutability of God

All the goodness and greatness that is God is an everlasting feature of His nature because of His immutability. He is unable to change, so the most wonderful attributes of His nature and character that are the adoration of Christendom are once and always settled and constant. Because God cannot change, He can always be relied upon. Based on what He has revealed, Christians can know Him, including His character, nature, desires, power, plans, grace, and much more. He is never moody, inconsistent, flippant, or unapproachable. Though He exercises justice, we can trust that His goodness will be evident. Though he chastens His children, His mercy will be known throughout the experience.

As we ponder the changelessness of God, we might recall the beautiful hymn by Thomas Chisholm and William M. Runyan, “Great is Thy Faithfulness.” The hymn bursts with robust theological doctrine grounded on the Lord’s immutability:

“Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
There is no shadow of turning with Thee,
Thou changest not, Thy compassions they fail not,
As Thou hast been,Thou forever wilt be.”

The great faithfulness of God is heralded on the wings of His eternal immutability. God never differs because He is perfect and has no need to change. Humans, by contrast, experience change because human morality is corrupted. God remains objective because He is not influenced by sin; yet mankind possesses subjectivity derived from a flawed and sinful perspective acquired in the fall and manifested by deteriorating morality. Humans must change and come into conformity with Christ, the Holy and Changeless One.

As we can trust the Living Word to be faithful, we can also trust the written Word. Truth has no expiration date because it was produced by the unchanging God. The Word of God will never become stale or spoiled, but will always satiate those who hunger and thirst after righteousness. Because of God’s immutability, Christians can claim “pardon for sin and a peace that endureth…strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow” in the immutable God.

My Prayer for Today:
Heavenly Father,
I thank You that your goodness and greatness are unchangeable. I am thankful that I can put my confidence in You. Like Paul, I want to “know you” and increase my knowledge of You and of Your grace. I thank You that your faithfulness is so great because you are changeless. Help me to change to be more like You. I thank You that your Word is cannot change, and that I can trust it to guide me all the day. Lord, You are too wonderful for me to understand! In my weakness of heart and mind, give me strength and hope as I rest in your faithfulness unto me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “The Immutability of God

  1. Pingback: The Attributes of God | Learning the Way of Wisdom

Leave a Reply

