God’s Omnipresence

The Lord is not bound by time or space because His bounds know no limits. As A.W. Tozer stated, “God is everywhere here, close to everything, next to everyone.” The presence of the Lord abounds to all places. It is the omnipresence of God that Paul recalls in his sermon on Mars Hill as he challenges the Greeks to seek after God because “he [God] be not far from every one of us: For in him we live, and move, and have our being;” (Acts 17:27-28). The omnipresence of the Lord assures those seeking Him that He can be found! The Lord is the “High and Lofty One,” yet He makes Himself available to all people who long to find His salvation.

Moreover, no one can hide from the presence of the Lord. The Lord sees the just and the unjust; He is present to observe the righteousness and the unrighteousness of men. Though the “Lord’s throne in heaven” His omnipresence ensures that “his eyes behold…the children of men” (Psalm 11:4). When Adam and Eve fell to sin in the Garden, God was aware of the change in their nature (Genesis 3:9) as a result of their behavior (Genesis 3:11). For the righteous, the Lord “compasseth my path and my lying down” (Psalm 139:3) and “hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me” (Psalm 139:5). The omnipresence of God assures the believer that He is next to him at all times. Even in the farthest reaches of the world, God is there! No matter where the believer may find himself, access into the presence of God is always available through faith (Romans 5:1-2).

One of the most beautiful illustrations of the Lord’s presence is that of the Shepherd. As David explained in Psalm 23, the Lord is present in all places from “the green pastures” to “the still waters” to “the valley of the shadow of death” and even to “the house of the Lord.” His presence provides constant comfort so that the believer “shall not want.” God’s presence assures the believer of His reality so that he will “fear no evil.” It is because of the Lord’s omnipresence that each believer can know with certainty that “goodness and mercy shall follow [them] all the days of [their] life.” To know the closeness of the Shepherd is to know security, find rest, discover assurance, and know peace. Believers should consciously recognize the nearness of God and rejoice that He is never far from them at any time.

My Prayer for Today:
Heavenly Father,
I thank You, Lord, that You are my Shepherd. I am thankful that Your presence reassures me. I claim the promise today that You will never leave me or forsake me. I pray that you will give me grace to be humble and dependent upon You. I submit myself to You knowing that only You can satisfy my hunger and my thirst for righteousness. I trust that You will lead me to the green pastures and still waters. Restore my soul, O Lord, and lead me for thy name’s sake that You may receive glory from my life today. Thank You for the comfort of Your presence. Give me grace to discern Your nearness, in Jesus’ name. Amen.

One thought on “God’s Omnipresence

  1. Pingback: The Attributes of God | Learning the Way of Wisdom

Leave a Reply

